Saracens trio omitted for England training camp


England boss Eddie Jones has named nine uncapped players in a 45-player squad for the next training camp, but there is no place in the mix for Mako Vunipola, Billy Vunipola, George Ford or Elliot Daly.

The large squad will meet for a two-day training camp next week and gives us a hint at where Jones will take the team over the next two years in the run up to the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

Jones has opted against calling up Saracens trio Mako Vunipola, Billy Vunipola and Daly, while experienced fly-half Ford also misses out. There are eight uncapped players named in the squad — Mark Atkinson, Jack Kenningham, Louis Lynagh, Gabriel Oghre, Raffi Quirke, Sam Riley, Bevan Rodd and Ollie Sleightholme.

There are also spots in the squad for nine players who made their debuts in the summer Tests — which took place while the British & Irish Lions tour was on. Jamie Blamire, Trevor Davison, Alex Dombrandt, Joe Heyes, Lewis Ludlow, Adam Radwan, Harry Randall, Marcus Smith and Freddie Steward all earn recalls.

The camp meets as England step up their preparations for the autumn Test programme with Tonga, Australia and South Africa all travelling to Twickenham.

“This is an exciting squad made up of experienced players and young guys who did well in the summer and have earned their place again,” Jones said.

“We have left out some experienced players but we’re really clear that the door isn’t closed to them, and we’re looking forward to seeing them work hard to get back into contention.

“We have five campaigns now until the 2023 World Cup so each one counts, and this is a chance for this 45 to impress the new coaching staff.”

England squad


Jamie Blamire, Callum Chick, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tom Curry, Trevor Davison, Alex Dombrandt, Charlie Ewels, Ellis Genge, Joe Heyes, Jonny Hill, Ted Hill, Maro Itoje, Jack Kenningham, Courtney Lawes, Lewis Ludlam, Lewis Ludlow, Joe Marler, George Martin, Beno Obano, Gabriel Oghre, Sam Riley, Bevan Rodd, Sam Simmonds, Kyle Sinckler, Will Stuart, Sam Underhill.


Mark Atkinson, Owen Farrell, George Furbank, Ollie Lawrence, Louis Lynagh, Max Malins, Joe Marchant, Jonny May, Raffi Quirke, Adam Radwan, Harry Randall, Dan Robson, Henry Slade, Ollie Sleightholme, Marcus Smith, Freddie Steward, Manu Tuilagi, Anthony Watson, Ben Youngs.

Articles You May Like

‘I lost it’: Georgia election official on threatening tweet that led him to address Trump
Ukraine War: ‘Horrendous casualties, it’s becoming a meat grinder’
Listen to the daily voicemails from Giuliani that state official avoided
Ukrainian Defense Minister: Written military orders were recovered from dead Russian officer
CNN reporter presses GOP senator over texts about fake electors